Ethics Committee

The chair of the Ethics Committee coordinates AGU’s investigations of scientific misconduct.  The past Past President of AGU will serve as the chair.

The Ethics Committee reports to the board of directors and is responsible for investigating allegations that are deemed by the chair of the Ethics Committee to be substantial and thereby require investigation. The Ethics Committee will consist of members involved in outreach, meetings, and publications, and, additionally, one editor from the following three categories: AGU editors in chief, editors, and associate editors.  This is not a standing committee.  It will be convened only as needed.  Additional members may be added to a specific investigation to provide subject matter expertise pursuant to the allegation.  The chair will name one of the Committee members as the vice chair to assist and serve as chair in the event of conflict of interest or if the Chair cannot serve for other reasons.  Members will serve for 2 years and will be nominated from their respective committees and the community of editors.  Because of their other substantial responsibilities, committee chairs should not be considered for nomination.  The AGU president will work with the chair of the Ethics Committee to review nominations and finalize the membership of the Ethics Committee.

The board of directors has the final authority to determine what actions will be taken if an allegation of scientific misconduct is found to be substantiated.

See also